The Stars Hollow Experience.

Like Diana I am watching many a new shows. So here is some very quick thoughts in bullet list form, because who doesn’t love a bullet list.

  • I personally really like Atlanta and how it is not at all predictable and just does what it needs to do.
  • Insecure from Issa Rae is also an early favourite, but I loved her webseries, so it is not really a surprise. Diana also watched the first episode before me and she very wisely predicted that I would love it.
  • I am a fan of The Good Place and plan to continue with it.
  • I’m on the fence with No Tomorrow. It is not bad, but I’m just not hooked. I’ll give it one more episode, maybe two, because four episodes are my usual give it a chance limit
  • Streaming with full seasons: I have Goliath, Haters Back Off and Luke Cage to watch.
  • I’m also looking forward to The Crown and while not a new show I’m looking forward to the new season of Black Mirror. It has been years, so it feel like a new show.

But now on to the main attraction!

gilmore-girls
These three are magic. 

Gilmore Girls. I’ve never watched it before and I’ve always wanted to. And since the follow up miniseries is premiering on November 25th I’ve created a battle plan. When I created this plan I had to watch 3 episode per day, meaning I have roughly a week for each season. I am in my second week, so I should be in the middle of the second season, but I had nothing to do this weekend, so I’m already five episode in to season three. I also know myself, so at some point I will be to busy to watch a whole season in a week, so I’m getting ahead. Anyway, I am stealing the Marathon Diary concept from Previously.TV and probably other websites, because that is how it goes.

Oh my gosh – I just saw a very young Riki Lindhome and now I can’t concentrate on anything else. This show is old and sometimes I get distracted by actors (Many who I’m looking forward to see!) and technology being outdated. Also I know a lot about the show from watching random episodes and being a person on the internet, but I am really loving it. I love so many things that I’ve created a list of things I love and other thoughts:

  • Emily Gilmore. She is fantastic and I don’t care what anyone else says.
  • Rory and Luke’s relationship. It is adorable and just all around great.
  • I like Dean – even if I know what happens later – he is a great first boyfriend.
  • I love that I can watch it without having to look at the screen all the time, because it is so dialogue heavy.
  • The dynamic between Lorelai and Christopher feels very real.
  • I don’t have any strong feeling about Jess.
  • Luke and his curmudgeon attitude.
  • Paris is insane, but she makes sense and I can’t wait to see more of her.
  • I love that Paris, Dean and Jess appear in the credits when they are in an episode and not when they are not.
  • Lane is delightful and I just met Adam Brody’s character and I love them together.
  • Sookie and Jackson are my favourite couple so far.
  • This show loves pop culture as much as me, so yay.

Okay, that is my two cents for now. I plan to update you on my progress periodically during the marathon.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

