First of all, WebMD’ing is totally a word – and it is more a general expression than a reference to WebMD.com specifically.

With that out of the way, let me get on with the post.

I’m not feeling too hot today. I weren’t really Yesterday either, but at least I was better then. With my critical mind I tend to feel safe enough Googling og WebMD’ing my illnesses. It is just a good way of finding out if it is necessary to call my doctor or if I just need to stay safe and warm under my covers. I have friends, such as Trine – sorry, but I’m a name namer – who can make the sniffles into impending death. I tend to stay more realistic, but it is very hard because suddenly everything is wrong with you.

I’ve had tonsillitis quite a few times, so that I know how to react to. This time though my throat is not that sore but instead my ear is slowly killing me. Something different than I’m used to so I turned to my friend Google, who led me to WebMD and I’ve got all the symptoms of the mumps.

Also the mumps is a lovely word. It doesn’t sound dangerous but at the same time it sounds incredibly dangerous. In Danish it is called the sheep sickness which just sounds stupid and not at all what the sickness is about. I guess it is something with the parotid glands and their latin name or them being something with sheep. At least that is how illnesses in Denmark are mostly named.

WebMD (in this case the Danish equivalent) lists the following as symptoms of the mumps:

  • Very light fever for a few days
  • Swollen and painful parotid glands
  • Mostly it starts in just one side and then spreads
  • Fever then rises

I can check all of these, but on the other hand the illness has almost died out in Denmark, due to the vaccine, which I have. So let’s just clarify that chances are slim to none.

None the less, I am advised to contact my doctor if throat pains are accompanied by pain in the ear, so I better call him tomorrow.

Another great translation here is actually the parotid glands, which are called ear spit glands in Danish. Yes, we have all the cool names. Normally I don’t think about it, unless I have to translate them and actually get to think about their meaning.

Let’s hope I don’t have infected ear spit glands and the sheep sickness.

