And before the grammar ninjas attack me: I did not misspell a lot. Alot is an animal. So says Allie of Hyperbole and a Half. The Alot is her way of coping with bad grammar on the internet a way that I have embraced wholeheartedly and as I know the grammar ninja in Diana loves. Therefore I’ve deemed it necessary for the rest of you to meet the Alot as well.

What Allie has to say about the Alot in “The Alot is Better Than You at Everything”:

The Alot is an imaginary creature that I made up to help me deal with my compulsive need to correct other people’s grammar. It kind of looks like a cross between a bear, a yak and a pug, and it has provided hours of entertainment for me in a situation where I’d normally be left feeling angry and disillusioned with the world.

How the Alot looks:

And now come the reason why I’m thinking about the Alot today of all days. I’ve know about the Alot for ages since I discovered Hyperbole and a Half last year or so. And along with The God of Cake it is my favorite of Allie’s posts. Sidenote: I am very sad that she apparently has stopped updating. But I’ve started watching Crash Course World History (I’ve yet to feel inspired to watch the Biology section even though I prefer Hank slightly over John, but both Green brothers are awesome.) So while I was happily learning about The French Revolution I saw this:

Clearly the Alot was part of the French revolution. Click the image to jump to that part of the video.

I learned plenty about the French revolution, but the Alot sightseeing totally made the day.

Also I promised a video and I know you see no YouTube videos on the page, but if you go ahead and click on some of all the links that I’ve included you will see plenty of videos.

